Our Top Picks
The best power tool combo kits balance the number of tools, the number of batteries and the battery platform you are willing to commit to, and for most homeowners a five-to-seven-tool kit with two batteries is the sweet spot. This guide compares ten listings across DEWALT, Milwaukee, CRAFTSMAN and BLACK+DECKER, plus one outlier that is not a cordless combo at all. Everything here comes from listing titles, which are seller claims, so confirm tool lists, battery counts and charger details on the live page before ordering.
Top picks at a glance
CRAFTSMAN V20 Power Tool Combo Kit, 7-Tool Cordless Power Tool Set with 2 Batteries and Charger (CMCK700D2)
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated.
Milwaukee Electric - M18 Fuel. 2-Tool Combo KIT
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated.
DEKOPRO Tool Set:Tool Kit with 8V Cordless Drill,Tool Box with Drill,Hand Drill Set for Men & Women,Home Tool Kits for House Repair,Handyman,DIY 126 Piece
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated.
| Model | Key point from title | Price tier | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| DEWALT DCK1021D2 | 10 tools, 2 batteries, charger, 2 bags, brushless | Premium | Big workshop starter |
| DEWALT DCK540D1 | 5 tools, 5Ah battery, charger | Mid-range | Remodel basics with saws |
| DEWALT DCK751P1 | 7 tools, 5Ah battery, charger | Premium | Wider tool range on one battery |
| CRAFTSMAN V20 CMCK700D2 | 7 tools, 2 batteries, charger | Mid-range | Value-minded homeowners |
| BLACK+DECKER BD4KITCDCRL | 4 tools, 2 batteries, charger | Budget | Light household jobs |
| Milwaukee M18 2696-26 | 6 tools, lithium-ion | Premium | Brand-committed buyers |
| Milwaukee M18 8-tool set | 8 tools, 3 batteries, 2 bags, charger | Premium | Full shop starter |
| Milwaukee M18 Fuel 2-tool combo | 2-tool combo kit, M18 Fuel | Mid-range | Small entry to the Milwaukee platform |
| DEKOPRO 126-piece tool set | 8V cordless drill plus hand tools in a box | Budget | Basic home repair kit |
| DEWALT DCK551D1M1 | 5-tool kit, battery and charger | Mid-range | Starter with an oscillating tool |
What a combo kit usually includes
A combo kit bundles several cordless tools that share one battery platform, along with at least one battery, a charger and usually a bag or case. The core pair is a drill and an impact driver. Larger kits add saws, an oscillating multi-tool, a work light, a sander or a jigsaw. Because the batteries are shared, adding tools later is cheaper if you stay with the same brand.
What kits do not always include is just as important: bits, blades and a second battery are the usual gaps. Read the contents line by line, and remember that a “bare tool” has no battery or charger of its own.
What is shifting in cordless kits
Brushless motors have moved from premium add-ons to a common selling point. Titles that say “brushless” generally point to motors that are more efficient and may last longer, though the benefits depend on the specific tool and workload, and a product-line name such as “Fuel” should be checked against the manufacturer’s description.
Battery platforms are also getting broader. Most major brands now build mowers, vacuums, lights and outdoor tools around the same battery, so a combo kit works as an entry ticket to a family of products. That makes the first battery choice more important than the first drill.
Kits are getting larger, too. A decade ago a combo meant a drill and a driver; today listings with seven or ten tools are routine. Padding is a risk, because extra tools such as a jigsaw or sander may be tools you rarely use. Count only the ones you would buy on their own.
Finally, retailers increasingly sell kits with bags rather than hard cases. Bags are lighter and cheaper but offer less protection, so think about how and where you store the tools.
How we picked these
This is a desk comparison built from listing titles, published specifications, manufacturer documentation and the themes buyers raise in reviews. Nobody on the team used or measured these units. We grouped listings by brand and platform, then by tool count and the number of batteries named. Where a title omits the tool list, we say so. Price tiers are relative within this set only.
The ten kits one at a time
DEWALT 20V MAX 10-tool combo kit, DCK1021D2
The title lists ten tools, two batteries, a charger and two bags, and calls it a brushless combo kit. Ten tools is the largest count in the set, which suits someone starting a workshop from scratch rather than adding one more saw to an existing collection.
The title does not name the individual tools, so the exact lineup needs checking on the product page. Two batteries means one can charge while the other works, which matters on longer projects.
- Pro: largest tool count in the set
- Pro: two batteries and two bags named
- Con: tool list not given in the title
- Con: premium price tier
A kit this size is usually a commitment to a platform. Ten tools in two bags also means you will be carrying and storing a lot, so think about shelf space and whether you want everything in one place. If you already own a drill or saw from another brand, some of the lineup may duplicate what you have and be wasted money.
Check the listing for the full tool list, battery capacity and charger type. Ask before buying: how many of the ten would I buy separately?
DEWALT 20V MAX 5-tool combo kit, DCK540D1
The title names a half-inch cordless drill, a quarter-inch impact driver, a reciprocating saw, a circular saw and an oscillating tool, with one 5Ah battery and a charger. That lineup covers drilling, fastening, rough demolition cuts and straight cuts, a solid base for remodeling.
The weak point is that a single battery means waiting while it charges. A 5Ah pack gives longer runtime than smaller ones, but a circular saw and a recip saw can drain it quickly on a larger job.
- Pro: useful mix of cutting and driving tools
- Pro: 5Ah battery named
- Con: only one battery
- Con: no sander or jigsaw
Remodeling tends to mix tasks, from pulling nails to cutting studs and trimming doors, and an oscillating tool handles tight spots that a saw cannot reach. The kit leaves out finishing tools, which keeps the tool count honest. Budget for a few saw blades and bits, since the blades that ship with kits are often general purpose.
Check the listing for brushed or brushless motors and bag details. Ask before buying: will one battery keep me working through a typical project?
DEWALT 20V MAX 7-tool combo kit, DCK751P1
This title adds a random orbital sander and a jigsaw to the same five tools as the DCK540D1, with a 5Ah battery and charger. Seven tools make it a wider starter kit for woodworking and finishing tasks.
It still has just one battery, which means the number of tools outpaces the power supply. Buyers who plan to run the sander and jigsaw in longer sessions may want a second pack.
- Pro: seven tools including sander and jigsaw
- Pro: 5Ah battery named
- Con: one battery for seven tools
- Con: premium price tier
The extra sander and jigsaw suit furniture projects, cabinet repairs and shaped cuts in plywood. The title does not say whether both are brushless, so check the product page. If you plan a woodworking hobby, a second battery bought alongside would let you sand while a pack recharges.
Check the listing for the tool case or bag and the battery type. Ask before buying: should I add a spare battery to this order?
CRAFTSMAN V20 7-tool combo kit, CMCK700D2
A seven-tool kit with two batteries and a charger on the V20 platform. The title does not name the tools, so the product page needs a careful read to see whether it matches your jobs.
Two batteries in a seven-tool kit is a better ratio than the DEWALT seven-tool listing, and the price tier is lower. It fits homeowners who want a wide range of tools without paying for the premium names.
- Pro: seven tools plus two batteries
- Pro: mid-range price tier
- Con: tool lineup not named in the title
- Con: battery capacity is not stated
Value kits often pair a larger tool count with smaller batteries, so look for the amp-hour rating before assuming that two packs equal long runtime. Buyers frequently use kits like this for fence repairs, shelving and weekend projects rather than daily trade work,.
Check the listing for amp-hour ratings, motor type and warranty. Ask before buying: is the V20 platform sold in my local stores for spare batteries?
BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 4-tool combo kit, BD4KITCDCRL
The most affordable genuine cordless combo here: four tools, two batteries and a charger. The tool lineup is not stated in the title, so check which tools are included.
It suits light household jobs such as hanging shelves, assembling furniture and small repairs. Heavy framing or deck work would push it hard, so consider it a household kit rather than a contractor kit.
- Pro: lowest price among the true cordless combos
- Pro: two batteries named
- Con: only four tools
- Con: likely lighter duty than the premium brands
Because the kit is aimed at casual use, it may suit a first apartment or a starter set for someone who has never owned cordless tools. For tasks such as drilling into masonry or cutting thick lumber repeatedly, a more robust platform is likely a better investment.
Check the listing for the tool list, battery capacity and motor type. Ask before buying: are these tools enough for what I plan to build?
Milwaukee M18 cordless lithium-ion 6-tool combo kit, 2696-26
The title says six tools and a lithium-ion M18 platform, but gives no tool list, battery count or charger details. A kit with this listing should be verified carefully on the product page.
It fits buyers who prefer the Milwaukee platform and want a broad starter set. At the premium tier, the batteries included will matter to the value.
- Pro: six tools on the M18 platform
- Pro: strong brand ecosystem
- Con: very sparse title details
- Con: premium price tier
The M18 label refers to the platform, and spare batteries and add-on tools are generally easy to find for major brands. Because the listing is so thin, read the model number 2696-26 on the manufacturer’s page and compare the stated contents with the product page before ordering.
Check the listing for the tool list, battery count and capacity. Ask before buying: what is in the box besides the tools?
Milwaukee M18 18V 8-tool combo kit
The title names eight tools, three batteries, two tool bags and a charger. Three batteries is the largest battery count here, which keeps a work session moving.
The title again does not list the tools, so confirm that the lineup matches what you need. It is the most expensive listing, and the extra battery plus bags account for part of the premium.
- Pro: three batteries for continuous work
- Pro: eight tools and two bags
- Con: highest price tier here
- Con: tool list not in the title
The two bags help organize the tools, and three batteries let you rotate through a long day or put a pack on the charger while working. Keep in mind that more batteries also mean a longer time to charge them all, and a single charger works through them one at a time.
Check the listing for the full lineup and battery sizes. Ask before buying: do I need eight tools, or would a smaller kit plus an extra battery do?
Milwaukee M18 Fuel 2-tool combo kit
The title offers little: M18 Fuel and a two-tool combo kit. “Fuel” is a product-line name, and the manufacturer’s page will say what it means, but this title does not say which tools, how many batteries or what charger is included.
Treat this as a starting point for someone who wants a drill and driver on a premium platform and plans to add tools later. Read the product page closely, because several kits with similar names exist.
- Pro: named M18 Fuel line
- Pro: modest price among Milwaukee options
- Con: sparse title information
- Con: only two tools
If you already own M18 batteries, a combo like this may be cheaper than buying bare tools. If not, factor in the cost of a starter battery and charger, because a bare-tool bundle can look inexpensive until you add power.
Check the listing for the tools, batteries and whether a bag is included. Ask before buying: is this a kit or just two bare tools?
DEKOPRO 126-piece tool set with 8V cordless drill
This is a different product class. The title describes a 126-piece home tool kit with a toolbox and an 8V cordless drill for house repair, which is a hand-tool set with a small drill rather than a combo kit of full-size power tools. It does not belong in the same category as the rest of this list.
It is useful for people who need a starter set for basic repairs, such as assembling furniture or hanging pictures, but it will not replace a circular saw or impact driver. The 8V drill is a lower-power class than the 18V and 20V tools.
- Pro: lowest price and many accessories
- Pro: toolbox storage included
- Con: not a power tool combo kit in the usual sense
- Con: low-voltage drill
For many apartment dwellers, a kit like this can answer the question of what to buy first. Pair it with a proper tape measure, level and stud finder. Treat the 126-piece count as a marketing figure, since screws, bits and small accessories can make up a large share of it.
Check the listing for battery details, what the 126 pieces include and the case quality. Ask before buying: do I want a general tool set or a power tool platform?
DEWALT 5-tool combo kit, DCK551D1M1
The title names a drill, impact driver, saw and oscillating multi-tool, with a 20V MAX battery and charger. Only four tools are named even though the title says five, so check the product page for the fifth.
It has a single battery, like the DCK540D1. It suits a buyer who wants the DEWALT platform with a multi-tool for trim and cut-ins.
- Pro: named multi-tool for detail work
- Pro: DEWALT platform compatibility
- Con: one battery
- Con: title lists only four of the five tools
Model-number suffixes can signal different battery and bundle configurations, so rely on the product page for the exact contents. For occasional use around a house, one battery is often adequate if you charge between tasks, but it is a limit for all-day work.
Check the listing for the fifth tool and battery capacity. Ask before buying: how does this compare with the DCK540D1 for what I need?
Buying guide: choosing a power tool combo kit
Platform before price
Batteries are generally not interchangeable across brands. Pick the platform that sells the tools you will want next, whether that is outdoor equipment, lights or specialty tools. A cheap kit on a limited platform can cost more over time if you need to replace everything later.
Voltage labels
Labels such as 20V MAX and 18V are brand conventions that commonly describe similar tool classes, but you should not assume cross-brand compatibility. Compare brand to brand using amp-hours and motor type rather than headline voltage alone.
Batteries and chargers
Amp-hours indicate capacity; a 5Ah pack lasts longer than a 2Ah pack but weighs more. Two batteries let you swap and keep working. Follow the manufacturer’s instructions for charging, avoid charging unattended or on flammable surfaces, and never use a damaged or swollen battery.
Brushed versus brushless
Brushless motors tend to be more efficient and may deliver better runtime. Check whether a kit’s tools are brushless, because titles do not always say.
Price per useful tool
Divide the price tier by the number of tools you would genuinely use, not by the headline tool count. A kit with four tools you use daily is better value than a ten-tool kit where six sit in the bag. Stated batteries and a charger have real value too, since buying them separately adds up.
Weight and ergonomics
Tools with bigger batteries get heavier, which tires your arm during overhead work. Compact tools and smaller packs may be easier for tight spaces, while larger packs help with sawing. If possible, hold a similar tool in a store to judge grip and balance.
Tool selection
A drill and an impact driver are the core. Add a circular saw for lumber, a reciprocating saw for demolition, and an oscillating tool for trim or flush cuts. Sanders and jigsaws are optional unless you do woodworking. If you also need hand tools for garage work, see our mechanics tool sets for home garages.
Worked example
Assumptions for illustration only: a homeowner replaces a few deck boards and installs shelving, using a drill, an impact driver and a circular saw for roughly two hours of intermittent work. A single 5Ah battery may cover a lot of that, but the circular saw can drain it faster than the drill does. With two batteries, one can charge while the other works, which avoids downtime. If a kit has seven tools but one battery, consider buying a spare pack; if it has four tools and two batteries, the budget may stretch further.
| Spec concept | What to look for | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Battery count | Two or more | Keeps work moving |
| Amp-hours | Higher Ah for saws | Longer runtime |
| Motor type | Brushless where stated | Efficiency and lifespan |
| Tool list | Tools you would buy alone | Avoids padding |
| Carry bag or case | Bag or hard case | Protection and storage |
Safety tips for cordless tools
Cordless does not mean harmless: a circular saw or reciprocating saw can kick back or bind, and a drill can twist hard when a bit jams. Use both hands where the tool is designed for it, keep loose clothing and hair clear, and let the blade stop completely before setting the tool down. Wear eye and hearing protection, clamp the workpiece, and remove the battery before changing blades or bits. Keep guards in place and follow the manufacturer’s instructions and local codes where they apply. Store batteries away from heat and moisture.
Mistakes buyers make
Many first-time buyers also underestimate accessories. Drill bits, driver bits and saw blades are often sold separately or included in small quantities, so factor them in. Buying on tool count alone is the classic one; a ten-tool kit with weak batteries can disappoint. Another is overlooking that the title lacks a tool list, then discovering the kit omits the saw you wanted. Buyers also choose a platform without checking if spare batteries and extra tools are available locally, forget to account for the single-battery limit, or mistake a hand-tool set like the DEKOPRO for a power tool combo.
Final checklist before ordering
Open the listing and confirm four things: the full tool list, the number and capacity of batteries, the charger type, and whether a bag or case ships with the kit. Then check whether spare batteries and single tools for the same platform are easy to find. If any of those answers is unclear, ask the seller before paying, because most disappointment with combo kits comes from assuming rather than checking.
Verdict by use case
Because several titles omit tool lists, treat the picks below as starting points and confirm the contents. For a broad starter, the DEWALT DCK1021D2 and Milwaukee 8-tool kit lead on volume and battery count. For mid-range value, the CRAFTSMAN CMCK700D2 offers seven tools and two batteries. For light jobs on a budget, the BLACK+DECKER four-tool kit is the sensible choice. For a remodel with saws, the DEWALT DCK540D1 is the focused option, with the caveat of a single battery.
Related guides
- Rechargeable Electric Toothbrush With Travel Case
- Countertop Water Filters Without Installation
- Skin Lifting And Tightening Devices
Frequently asked questions
What is in a typical cordless combo kit?
Most kits start with a drill and an impact driver, then add tools such as a circular saw, reciprocating saw, oscillating tool, jigsaw or sander. They normally include at least one battery and a charger, plus a bag or case. Titles often skip the tool list, so check the product page to confirm exactly what is included. The box contents can change between listings with similar model numbers, so verify the bag, case and accessory details too.
Are batteries interchangeable between brands?
Generally no. Each brand builds its own battery platform, so a battery from one maker usually does not fit another maker’s tools. That is why the platform matters more than the individual drill. Before buying, check which other tools and batteries the brand sells so you can expand the set later. Some brands do offer adapters, but they are not universal, and using one may affect warranty or safety, so follow the manufacturer’s instructions.
Is a kit cheaper than buying tools separately?
Often, but not always. Kits bundle batteries and a charger at a lower combined cost, which can be a better deal than buying each tool on its own. The saving disappears if the kit includes tools you will not use, so count only the tools you would buy anyway when comparing. Also compare the warranty and the cost of replacing a battery later, since those costs add up over the life of the platform.
How many batteries do I need?
Two is a practical minimum for longer jobs because one can charge while the other works. Single-battery kits can work for short projects, especially with a higher-capacity pack. If you plan to use saws or sanders for extended sessions, budget for a spare battery or choose a kit that includes more than one. Higher-capacity packs cost more and weigh more, so match the capacity to the heaviest tool you plan to run most.
Is the DEKOPRO set comparable to the other kits?
Not really. The title describes a 126-piece hand-tool set with an 8V cordless drill, which is a basic repair kit rather than a combo of full-size power tools. It can suit light household tasks, but it will not replace a circular saw or impact driver, so compare it with other tool sets, not these combos. It is better viewed as a starter set for light repairs, and a separate power tool kit can follow if your projects grow.
How should I charge and store cordless batteries safely?
Follow the manufacturer’s instructions for the charger and battery. Charge on a hard, non-flammable surface, avoid leaving charging batteries unattended, and never use a damaged, swollen or wet battery. Store packs away from heat and moisture, and keep them out of reach of children. If a battery overheats or smells strange, stop using it. Always follow the manufacturer’s instructions and local rules for disposing of old lithium-ion batteries at an appropriate recycling point.